Perkins School of Theology – Southern Methodist University

Perkins School of Theology-Southern Methodist University Logo

Perkins School of Theology –
Southern Methodist University

Address: 5915 Bishop Blvd., SMU Box 750133, Dallas, TX 75275

Phone number: 214–768–2139


Denomination: United Methodist Church

Distance Education Available: Yes

Enrollment: 309

Mission Statement: The mission of Perkins School of Theology is to equip persons for faithful leadership and Christian ministry in a changing church and society; to educate those seeking a deeper understanding of the Christian faith; and to strengthen the church, academy, and world through service, scholarship, and advocacy.

Featured Degrees:

  • Master of Divinity
  • Master of Arts in Ministry
  • Master of Theological Studies
  • Master of Theology
  • Master of Sacred Music

Accreditations: Perkins School of Theology is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Southern Methodist University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, masters, doctorate, and professional degrees. Perkins School of Theology is approved by the University Senate of The United Methodist Church for continued listing as an academic institution affiliated with the denomination.